[ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Full Android Experience with NO Limits on Shield TV and Nexus Player
elpaablo
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:42 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby elpaablo » Sun Sep 01, 2019 5:51 pm

Can we do anything about the led always on in sleep mode and about the wrong code passed to tv, which changes the tv input instead of power on/off? I mean, sure Pie is stable for everyday use, but there are basic things that don't work or work in a precarious way. For instance, vpn over ethernet works if don't touch anything. I can't change server, or I'll have to repeat the whole process again (deactivate/activate always on vpn and disable/enatble ethernet 2 times). So, if this is the final state of Pie, I'll go back to Oreo until Nvidia releases the source code or something, which may be forever...

dabears
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:10 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby dabears » Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:10 pm

I am having trouble editing build prop I cant seem to write to system I tried " mount -o rw,remount / "mentioned by stealth but does not work I also have been trying to figure out how or where you are using " adb root adb remount " @zulu99

elpaablo
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 10:42 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby elpaablo » Mon Sep 02, 2019 6:42 am

dabears wrote:I am having trouble editing build prop I cant seem to write to system I tried " mount -o rw,remount / "mentioned by stealth but does not work I also have been trying to figure out how or where you are using " adb root adb remount " @zulu99


You have to connect the box to a computer and run ADB from there. You have to do this every time you want to write to system. For instance, every time you want to update Adway hosts file, you have to do this before. That's another thing that makes me want to go back to Oreo.

fredphoesh
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 4:08 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby fredphoesh » Mon Sep 02, 2019 8:36 am

zulu99 wrote:you must start with the DEV 8 stock firmware.
the developer firmware


So is there a difference between what I flashed
stock 8 (nv-recovery-image-shield-atv-8.0.0.zip)

and "developer firmware"?
When I flash the recovery image v8, I get a boot loop.

Tx

dabears
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:10 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby dabears » Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:50 pm

I ended up just downgrading back to oreo for anyone that asked if its possible.

droidkid
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 8:56 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby droidkid » Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:59 pm

dabears wrote:I ended up just downgrading back to oreo for anyone that asked if its possible.

Can you list the steps on downgrading back to oreo...I have a 2015 shield...

Thanx..

rippin686
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:55 am

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby rippin686 » Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:00 pm

The "developer firmware" is pre-rooted I believe

JohnDay29
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 9:36 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby JohnDay29 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:12 am

zulu99 wrote:
JohnDay29 wrote:I am using an acre 23inch acer touchscreen and wanted to know if there was a way to activate the navigation bar. I know there are apps for the bar but they are all just a little buggy. Thanks for all your hard work by the way. I love it.


you can edit the build.prop and add

Code: Select all

qemu.hw.mainkeys = 0



Thanks @Zulu99 you are a rock star!!!

JohnDay29
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2019 9:36 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby JohnDay29 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:21 am

zulu99 wrote:
JohnDay29 wrote:I am using an acre 23inch acer touchscreen and wanted to know if there was a way to activate the navigation bar. I know there are apps for the bar but they are all just a little buggy. Thanks for all your hard work by the way. I love it.


you can edit the build.prop and add

Code: Select all

qemu.hw.mainkeys = 0



Looks as though I can't just edit the build prop the old fashion way with a file explorer. Do you have a walk through for me on what I need to do to add this code to the build.prop file? Thanks

dabears
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:10 pm

Re: [ROM][Full Android PIE for Shield TV][v.1.0]

Postby dabears » Tue Sep 03, 2019 3:17 pm

I used these steps to downgrade to oreo and confirm it works I have 500gb version... https://youtu.be/wU-SM7r6OMA


Return to “Full Android firmwares for Shield Android TV, Nexus Player and PC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests